Oriental Order of Humility and Perfection

Ancient Mystic Order of Samaritans

In the early Twentieth Century, the Odd fellows had no fewer than five Shriner-like side orders:  The Imperial Order of Muscovites, the Veiled Prophets of Baghdad, Knights of Oriental Splendor, the Ancient Mystical Order of Cabirians, and the Oriental Order of Humility and Perfection.  The Ancient Mystic Order of Samaritans is the playground for the Odd Fellows Lodge and members must be an Odd Fellow in good standing to be a member of the AMOS sanctorum. AMOS is involved in various community activities and projects, the proceeds of which go to charities in the local community.

Like the Shriners and Alhambra, the Samaritans adopt many trappings associated with a western vision of the Near East.  For example, officers bear pseudo-Arabic names--Supreme Kalifah, Supreme Ali-Baba, and Supreme Muezzin. 

The Samaritans work two degrees, the lower being Humility and the upper (available only to those who have attended a supreme or divisional convention) being Perfection.  A Jewel of Perfection can be seen above.

The OOH&P based its ritual on the legend of Xerxes I, son of Darius I who assumed the Persian throne in 485 B. C.  Xerxes is mentioned—but only in passing—in the Bible in the books of Ezra, Daniel, and Esther where he is called Ahasuerus.  He played no significant role in Biblical history and his only secular claim to fame is his disastrous invasion of Greece in which his navy was defeated in the battle of Salamis in 480 B.C. and his army the following year at Plataea.  Quoting Asimov’s Guide to the Bible, “Xerxes gave up the plan to conquer Greece and retired to a life of ease with his harem.”   One has to wonder what legend they were thinking about.

Here is a group photo of Samaritans!

In 1924, all of the above orders were merged into the Ancient Mystical Order of Samaritans. According to Axelrod, they still had 3,953 member as of 1995.  I’ve been told that the pyramidal lighthouse emblem seen here was only used on early fezzes. The motto: “We Never Sleep” ties in with the flame attending lighthouse, since the Samaritans were known to rescue ships at sea. 

The membership regalia of AMOS is a fez.  The fez color and tassel color indicate the rank of the member.


Red Fez with Yellow Tassel - Has Received Humility Degree (holds title of Samaritan)

Red Fez with Red Tassel - Has Received Perfection Degree (holds title of Sheik)

Red Fez with Yellow & Blue Tassel - Samaritan + Past Grand Monarch

Red Fez with Red & Blue Tassel - Sheik + Past Grand Monarch

Red Fez with Purple Tassel - District Deputy

Red Fez with Red, White, & Blue Tassel - Past District Deputy

Red Fez with White Tassel - Past Divisional Monarchos

Blue Fez with Tassel of Rank (see above) - Division Officer

Blue Fez with Purple Tassel - Division Supreme Monarchos

Blue Fez with White Tassel - Past Division Monarchos

Red Fez ("Supreme") with Purple Tassel - Supreme Officer

Purple Fez with Purple Tassel - Supreme Monarchos

Purple Fez with White Tassel - Past Supreme Monarchos



A special Thanks to Karen Pellow for submitting the photograph of the A.M.O.S. group  shown above.

flourish.gif (3111 bytes)




Museum Home Page     Phoenixmasonry Home Page

Copyrighted © 1999 - 2019   Phoenixmasonry, Inc.      The Fine Print